Commercial Diet Shakes…no thanks! (long)

December 21st, 2014. That’s the day I decided I was sick and tired of being sick and tired. I have fibromyalgia. I will always have it, but it doesnt define me anymore 🙂   I am so greatful for the knowledge God has led me to and the monetary funds he enables us to have each month so that I can eat healthy.  There are SOOO many diets out there. Most I dont agree with, a few I do, but the point is you have to find something you can do long term that fits your life, or you will fail.  That’s not to say you wont fail, but I dont see something not working as failing. The only failure is the lack of trying!!

As many of you know I grow organic produce. I love knowing exactly where my food comes from. I dont trust others to make stuff for me. I try to trust people to grow things I cannot but you always have the greed of making a quick buck and knowing that person could easily lie to you. When you buy something you did not grow or make yourself, its a crapshoot. This is why I chose my particular diet to lose weight rather than do commercial shakes.

I used to do commercial shakes a lot. They were so good. Tasted like chocolate or vanilla, had lot of protein. The problem was it was so good and sweet that I kept drinking many a day. Many shake companies out there make shakes that arent real food. You cant take that food in your hand, put it in a blender, dehydrate it and come up with what they have. The ingredient lists are something you need the internet to find out what they are and you cannot pronounce it even if you tried. They claim to burn fat, to stop carbs from turning to fat or sugar, speed up metabolism, and a host of other things. Their plan is to get you addicted to the sweet chocolate you’re craving because you are eating healthier and therefore you buy more. It’s sole purpose is to have you buy more so they make more money.

I dont do commercial shakes because I like to see what I am putting in my body. There are no exotic super foods that are the new craze. There are no metabolism enhancers or fat burners. My shakes use simple nutrition that I can grow myself if need to. They use things my body are adapted to living in Indiana. They are things, that should I grow a garden, are now free nutrition. They are real tangible things I can hold in my hand, eat raw if I choose, or put into a blender or juicer. They are a way of life I can continue to do for the rest of my life.

Make what you put into your body, something that is do-able for the long term, not a quick fix.

 

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Exercise | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

