Vegan Farmer?? Well Almost

Vegan and Farmer dont quite go hand in hand now do they? Nothing like telling someone, “Yah, I’m a farmer. I have sheep, chickens, rabbits, ducks, turkeys, and pigs that I raise for meat. Oh you want to go to lunch?? I need a place thats Vegan.”  They of course give you the weirdest look ever! So here is the deal. I’m NOT vegan, But I have to eat vegan..sort of.

About two years ago, almost three now, I started having issues. It was around the time I switched everything to organic around my homestead. It started off that I couldnt drink milk from the store. Well that’s ok because I wanted to go raw anyway and guess what? I could drink raw. Woohoo! Then I found out I had a gluten intolerance. Well that totally sucked butt and I did a post on that. I started freakin out because I love me my grain carbs and I was making everything from scratch!! Bread, pasta, cake, cookies…argh..I’m drooling! Then I found out I was intolerant to eggs. Soon it was peanuts… Yeah I was going nuts..not literally though!  What the heck was going on with me??!!  It’s come to the point now that I can not have any dairy at all..no cheese, no raw milk, no kefir, no yogurt… I feel nauseated when I eat peanuts, chicken, pork, eggs, gluten, dairy..turkey..am I missing anything;…Man I hope not because whats left?? Veggies and fruit!

How can I be a farmer raising meat for others and our family when I cant eat anything? About the only meat I can eat at the moment is grassfed animal meat. Rabbit because we feed no grain, grassfed beef, and our own grassfed lamb. Thats a short list..although two of those are extremely economical for us to raise here but still. Well on top of all this I am diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. So life so far as been a real bumpy, learning curve, trip right now. About 6-8 weeks ago I started doing Insanity…sorry I didnt finish posting on my days   :(..anywho I figured if I am going to hurt, I”ll give my body a reason! Well after a month into it I hurt my knees and they still hurt even after dumping that program. I have many other videos that I can use that are not so extreme but my weight is not coming off.  Researching the web brought about a lot of changes for me.

I came across someone saying I should watch Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. That is changed their life. So I did. Its on Netflix and Hulu, you guys should check it out because IT has changed my life!! Seriously.  This man Joe Cross is an inspiration. He was rich to begin with but now he’s even richer because he found a need in America and across the world and that is to eat healthier. He’s all about juicing to change your life. Now before I go any further, I’m going to tell you, its expensive. I totally get why poor people are unhealthy. We really cant afford for me to keep eating this way. Notice I said me..not my family. Here in good ol Indiana shopping at Aldi’s, its $100 a week just for meals for me. Then another $100 for the rest of the family.

It would be so easy to go on a $60 a month pill for my fibro versus $400 a month in actual food. I’m sure if you did the same juice multiple times a week it might be cheaper, but its about variety and color so I dont do that.  This is why healthcare is so easy to go to instead of using what God has given us here on Earth to use. A person making minimum wage with a house payment and a car payment cant afford to juice and smoothie, salad, and fruit their way to health. This is a sad world we live in, but its the truth!

Sorry I”m going off on a tangent. So I took the plunge one week when we had extra money. I juiced for breakfast and a snack after lunch. One juice split in half because it was about a quart. I still ate lots of processed stuff that I could handle because it was cheaper. I had no idea how to prepare meals that were real food that didnt have eggs, cheese, milk, flour, or meat in them! Those are staples for most Americans and the homesteader! Well I started noticing a difference in my body. I didnt hurt as much when I got up in the morning. That difference just in a week made me take the plunge to do Joe’s 10 Day plan.

In that 10 day plan you eat, juice, and make smoothies. He has a grocery list and recipes to follow, all Vegan by the way. Easy peasy!! So after the 10 days what have I noticed? Except for weather changes that affect millions of us, I no longer hurt when I wake up. I still have fatigue, but its so minimal I just schedule a small nap in my day, most days. Instead of being confined to the couch. I am able to work hard on my homestead and not have to take days laying on the couch for my body to recover like before. I can eat one of those “intolerance” foods again, but only one and only once a week. I havent noticed lbs dropping like flies like some other juicing people but fibromyalgia is an inflammatory disease. My body is working so hard to stay uninflamed that I am ok with taking forever to lose the weight…ok not really but I’m going with it   😉  I dont feel bloated, exhausted all day, FAT…my joints don’t ache, my stomach doesnt feel like I have heartburn, I can actually fall asleep at night. I feel awesome!

So for now I’m sticking with the whole Veganism because my body cant handle the things vegetarians and omnivores eat!  I listen to my body and if I want a small piece of lamb, a burger, or some rabbit soup made with gluten free pasta, then I abide. My body really doesnt crave it honestly. Yes I still raise animals and I”m not a Peta fan, but my body right now needs only fruits and veggies, minimal grains, and tons of water so I’m going to do it. I will find the money somehow to keep going as long as I can. I highly suggest if you are suffering from any sort of inflammatory disease that you give this a try. Be sure to add in cinnamon, tumeric, ginger, and garlic! Juice once a day if you have to, make a smoothie if you dont have a juicer, and get 90% of your nutrients from veggies and fruit if you can. It will change your life, I promise!  Even if you are dirt poor, watch Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. It will inspire you to do whatever it takes to try it just for a week. Use his plans on his site, he has pdf’s for free. As spring approaches I’m looking forward to a huge drop in grocery bills for me because I can grow so much on my own 🙂 I encourage you to do the same!

 

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Gardening, Homesteading, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

