Trusting God part 1

Its been hard. For two years we have been looking and wanting a homestead with a lot of land. I love gardening. Its in my soul. I love feeling the earth between my toes. I love looking over my plot of land and seeing little tiny green things poking through the dirt. I love knowing that I grew something. It gives me a feeling of pride. Last year I grew garden shares, my form of a CSA. It wasnt what I wanted exactly. The weather sucked and things didnt grow to the amount I felt people deserved to get for what they paid. However when I asked this year I ended up with 7 who wanted them. How on earth was I going to do that on 1 little acre?

I’m an animal lover, any animal really. Last year on my tiny acre we had two turkeys, 6 lambs, and over 30 chickens, along with the garden! I was extended to my max. I already have orders for two lambs and we need three for ourselves over winter. I couldnt imagine trying to extend my garden triple what it was last year plus raise at least 5 lambs all on my acre. So I started to pray.

It’s amazing what prayer does. It’s amazing what a group of people praying does. We found one place two years ago we swore was perfect. Turns out two years later, that the house wont be worth anything when we retire plus we probably cant even get insurance on it now. While we were waiting for them to sell during the first year, we found another place. Well ok my hubby did. He drove me past it and I was not impressed. It had a lot of low lying ground that I thought for sure would be a pond almost year round. Against my advice, my husband set up an appointment to go look at it. We had no money to put down on anything and I didnt even know why we were looking.

The place was great for what my husband wanted..I wasnt so sure. The land was ok..I could deal I guess. It had a barn that was cool and even had water out there! There was a pond/flooded half acre next to it. The house layout sucked but it had two of everything. So after looking at it, my husband was pretty much obsessed with it. Since we knew we wanted to move we started packing away what very little we could save. It wasnt much because I dont work. I take care of the homestead. With our bills and all the things these boys seem to eat and outgrow we just couldnt save anything. Tax season was coming in a few months and the house was still available. The more I thought about it, the more I thought it was perfect.

Two car garage, two living rooms, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, two kitchens..perfect for canning downstairs where it was cooler and not dirtying the upstairs. A walk out basement to carry my produce from the garden without having to walk through the house with my dirty bare feet, a barn that not only had water out there, but also had a huge shop for my husband and a huge area for all my animals to spend winter. There is water on the property incase there is a zombie apocalypse, enough front acreage to put my 7 shares plus a garden for us, and the fact that the low lying area didnt have any water on it despite having snowed like mega feet, drifting snow,and then warm temps to melt the snow. There was water in farmers fields that were iced over..sometimes the entire field was an iced pond, but that area looked natural and dry. Weird. I could live with the weird layout of the house because everything else was perfect. Did I mention it was 25 acres? Score!

We still had absolutely now money and they were asking more than we could ever afford and there was no way we could come up with a down payment. It really did seemed hopeless..but I continued praying and I continued to ask others to pray. If its meant to be it will be they kept saying. I had my doubts but I kept praying non the less…..

To be continued…

Categories: Homesteading | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Trusting God part 1

  1. I look forward to the continuation. We had a similar situation in that I wanted things to happen in my time, not God’s. I think He smiles and nods, knowing His time is better.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

