The Mighty Gluten free bread

Well I conquered..enough.. the pizza crust issue. That actually saves me many a “homemade pizza friday.”  Now ..for bread. There just comes a time when you need bread. Thanksgiving stuffing, rolls, breadsticks, and triple decker sandwiches! I have three bread recipes that I love. My favorite is this bread recipe.  Gluten conversion here we come!

I used a different flour mix on this so I’m going to post it now so you can mix some.

Bread flour mix

  • 100 gr corn starch
  • 200 gr tapioca starch/flour
  • 150 gr almond flour
  • 300 gr buckwheat flour
  • 250 gr oat flour

I went with this mix after using the rice flour blend that I had bought at the store a while back. Tapioca is really um gluten-y? I dont now how to explain it. It seems thick and I thought it would preform better than just corn starch as my starches.

I made the exact recipe that I had in my link above but instead of using 6 cups of flour I used 500 grams. I added 3 tsp of yeast instead of 2.  I also added the 4 TBS boiling water, 1TBS ground flax seed, and 1 TBS chia and made a slurry. The consistancy of the batter when I was done was a nice thick pancake batter..or maybe a waffle batter. Do NOT make this into a dough ball by adding more flour!! Let it sit and rise for an hour like normal.

I gave it a little bit of a stir. It thickened up a bit by sitting, but it was super thick batter looking still. I poured it into a greased bread pan and placed it in the oven for 40 minutes at 350. I checked it..goo inside..put it back in for another 20 min. Checked. It looked done by all accounts. I would probably (hindsight) turned off the oven and let it sit in there for a while. Then popped it out onto a cooling rack.

Here is the finished product with a bit of butter on top. Do this carefully!! 

IMG_0607

 

Please wait till it cools to cut it..dont be like me and snag a piece even though it clearly was just out of the oven and any bread person knows you dont slice hot bread!!  Yeah whatever..I always do! This bread was DA BOMB!! I cant even stress it enough how good this was. It was a lovely savory cross between a type of banana bread texture and a gluten bread texture. I was totally expecting an epic fail but no! LOOK..

IMG_0608

 

Spongy, airy, it rose!! It was so freakin good it’s all I can do to stop myself from eating the whole thing pipping hot! I’m so excited!!! Can you tell??!! Go make this bread I tell ya..make it now..close the laptop, turn off the desktop..oh wait..here I’ll make it easy for you.. The new recipe.

Gluten FREE   🙂 Bread

  • 500 gr of bread flour mix listed above
  • 4 TBS boiling water + 1 TBS chia seed + 1 TBS flax meal
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 3 tsp yeast
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1/2 c honey

Take 1 cup warm water and add the yeast. Stir and let sit. Take boiling water and chia/flax and mix until slimy. Add honey, milk, salt, egg and slime   😉 Mix throughly. Add the yeast water and mix. Finally add the bread flour mix. Stir until everything is wet. It should look like thick pancake or waffle batter..but not too thick. Cover bowl and let rise in a warm place for an hour at least. No need to change the bowl or grease it or anything. Grease a loaf pan with butter..heavily grease it. Slightly stir the mix in the bowl and pour into the loaf pan. It will have thickened slightly. Pop it in the oven and bake on 350 for at least an hour. Turn oven off and let sit an additional 10-15 min. Flip the loaf carefully out onto a cooling rack and walk away..I repeat..walk away until the loaf is cool! Once cool, cut a slice and slather some butter on that baby. MMMMMmmmmm. 

This recipe is definitely a keeper!!

Happy Deliciously Great Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Gluten Free Recipes | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Mighty Gluten free bread

  1. Nice. I’m glad you found a way to make bread work for you.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

