Gluten free-hope

Oh goodness. Remember my whole rant about how gluten free sucks?? Well it still does, BUT I have hope now. I know that in the big picture of things gluten plays a very small role. When you are told you cant eat that stuff ever..it makes you want it even more.

I prayed about this. I just felt frustrated and everything sucked. I found a gluten free site that uses whole natural ingredients. They are vegan and believe in eating a lot of raw stuff. Her website was awesome. I got a glimmer of hope and thought ok this is no longer overwhelming. Her site is Oh She Glows. It was very helpful to look through her recipes and find a few I would love to make.

It wasnt however what this homesteader, make stuff from scratch, eat healthy girl wanted. I want to know how to make things. How do you know how much flour to put in, what flours are the best, what does it look like when you use them, what do they taste like, how do I convert recipes?  I have a ton of recipes I love on here..my brownie recipe and my skillet cookie recipes. My family LOVES them. I need to know how to make them now without wheat flour.

Prayed some more. This time God gave me the site I needed. This team has it all together. She converts, tells ratios to make your own recipes, wrote cookbooks, bakes things like I do, and frankly gave me some mega hope and practical advice. Her name is Shauna and her site is Gluten Free Girl. If you read the “new to gluten page” that was basically all my feelings rolled into one. It was like I was reading my thoughts on her page!

After absorbing all I could from her site, I headed to the kitchen with a homemade flour mix. Mine was very basic because I didnt have money for all those expensive flours. I bought buckwheat flour, I had oats so I used my food processor and ground me some oat flour. I had also bought almond flour because of a recipe on Oh She Glows I wanted to try. I didnt have any starch except corn starch. So my mix consisted of

  • 244 gr of oat flour
  • 156 gr of almond flour
  • 300 gr of buckwheat flour
  • 300 gr of corn starch

That was what I had and thought made a great flour. So next step was to make pizza crust. I used that flour and made my recipe. I swapped cups of flour even up with her measurement of grams for a cup on her site. What i ended up with was a hard, totally cracked um…I dont know..cracker chips now lol.

IMG_0577It was a far cry from pizza crust even though it tasted like it. So I went on her site again and read..oh for breads and doughy stuff you need to use chia and flax slurry. This is basically when you take chia seeds and put them in double the amount of boiling water. They gel! I did not know this! So I made another batch. Because I could eat the first batch as a cracker, I though this time I would add some seasonings. So I made my exact recipe as before but I also added 4tbs boiling water with 2 tbs chia seeds. I added some oregano and some basil too. I let it rise even though it was sticky sort of doughball to start out with. I placed it on a cookie sheet and used a rolling pin to roll it out like I did before. Then crossed my fingers and baked it for 20 min.

IMG_0585Well not as big a failure! It still had a few cracks where the dough was a little thin but it was totally edible, soft, and tasted great! Definitely could be used as a pizza crust and even better it made a nice dense flat bread. I dont need huge pieces like slices of bread and I am full and it tastes great. I have yet to duplicate the recipe but here it is for anyone gluten free or not.

Flat bread/pizza crust

  • 1 c. warm water
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbs honey
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 3 1/2 c flour  or   490 gr gluten free flour mix from above post
  • if using gluten free flour add 2 TBS chia seeds into 4 TBS boiling water and stir still slimy.
  • 1 Tbs basil
  • 1 Tbs oregano

Add all ingredients into a bowl and mix until it becomes a soft doughball. Let sit for about an hour to rise. Roll out on a greased cookie sheet and bake 20 min at 350.

If using this for pizza crust, I would bake first then add the toppings and bake again. Play, be creative. So..what happened to the first crunchy broken crust?

I made a pizza bake in the crockpot and use the small pieces to scoop that up for a eating.

IMG_0586Nothings ever a complete failure..if its not edible by human standards there are always dogs or birds who seem to love it   😉

 

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

 

Categories: Homesteading | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Gluten free-hope

  1. Almond flour cookies are the best! We’ve been gluten free for a coupla years now. Mostly because of me. I’m strongly intolerant. Once I cleared my system, I ate some gluten and went into low-grade anaphylaxis!

    • aumcchildren

      That is horrible! I have found that now that I am avoiding, my symptoms are much worse if I eat some accidentally.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

