Tired

I’m Pooped! This summer is definitely not going the way I’ve wanted, but I’m just trying to go with the flow. My garden is at least half weeds. I have tomato blight, squash bugs, and my green beans suck.  On the bright side, my corn is turning out well and so did my carrots.  The garden share peeps seem happy with the turn out, but I know that it could be so much more than what it is.

The main problem is that I’ve been working. My husbands salary has me back earning money to keep things alive here. So this last month and a half I have been babysitting. Yes, I’m too old for this lol. I have been at her house 3 days a week for 10 hours each. So that filled my monday, tues, and thursday. Wed in the morning I’ve been helping clean a house then I am off to my garden I planted for a person who can no longer garden. She also has a share in my garden.  With those two things there goes my wed. Friday morning I help clean that house again and then go grocery shopping. After I am done there I try to catch 2 hours of swimming with the boys at a friends house. The only time left is the weekends and some nights if I’m not too tired. Not all my projects get done on a weekend. We have friends who want to come over, want us to come over, car problems, and some weeding.

I’m very surprised right now that my gardens are not worse then they are. I say gardens because as of right now I have my main garden share garden, a side garden that I had to make because I needed more room. It has two watermelon plants, 1 pumpkin plant, a row of radishes, two types of lettuce, rainbow chard, spinach, and mangel beets, along with 37 tomato plants. ( That is what I weeded tonight) Then I also have that garden in the other town. They are all at least 70% weed free 🙂  I’ve had to spend hours at night in there. I’m missing all my favorite shows and my family.

All my lambs are still doing ok. I have one (fat face) who now has a limp. We looked at his leg and the only thing we can come up with is that he might have gotten caught in the fence and sprained it. It definitely is hurting him and half the time he is on his knees eating. We are at this point just letting it go for a few days and see. I’m making sure the dog or nothing else make them all run. Hopefully it heals itself.  The only other thing I can think of is to ice pack it with some vet wrap. It looks to be the joint. We cant find any cuts or anything and it feels a bit hot and a tad swollen. I’m sure he will be fine.

I have been selling chickens and swapping them out for roosters people dont want. I’m almost down to just the three breeds I want. Wobbles the turkey is doing well also. He keeps following me around. He sleeps at night in the green house. My rabbit has been nothing but trouble lol. She was/is pregnant. She didnt really build a nest in the box and had 4 kits outside on the wire on day 26 from her first breeding. I thought that was it but then she built a mega next on day 28 and so I camped out all weekend with her. When she lays down you can see things moving in there. Each day they are getting higher and farther back. Today they were right up by the top of her hip. Tomorrow will be day 31 from her last breeding day. Here’s to hoping!! Even if its just one or two I’d be happy not to lose an entire litter.

Next week I start a new full time job. Then I will be balancing the remaining garden days, homeschool starting up again, housework, and a job. Sorry I havent blogged anything cool. I’m just too tired. In writing this it took me two hours because there are just things to do! Sometime tomorrow I have to butcher and can 4 roosters..hm.. just need a few weeks of 48 hour days!

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Gardening, Homesteading, Livestock | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

