Sara the Rabbit

So now that my husband knows and there is no danger of me getting in trouble, I’m going to blog about a new addition to our mini-farm. Her name is Sara and she is a Californian rabbit.

Sara1

She has actually been with us for about a month. See here went the conversation.. “Do you care if I get a rabbit?” “Yes, I dont want rabbits.”  “Even if I can feed it for free?” “We dont need rabbits.” “Well I like the taste of rabbit and it would help if we had some in the freezer.” “I still dont want rabbits.” “Fine, but I’m getting one once I figure out how to feed it for free. That way you cant complain, besides I would be taking care of it anyway.” *Evil look from hubby* *smile by me*

So about two weeks after that conversation, a friend of mine told me she had a rabbit I could buy. She would include a breeding in the price. I already had the hutch from a rehab situation of an animal, but didnt have anything to go in it. I asked a lady friend of mine if she had any rabbit stuff and she gave me a heavy crock. That was all she had. It was a start. I got a rewards card for $5 so I went to the hardware store and picked up a hay rack and a water bottle. Total cost was $3. Ok so I spent some money on her..but so far we have not put more than $30 into her and the supplies total.

She is now about two weeks pregnant (lets hope anyway) and she is becoming very friendly. She knows our trick to tickle her feet in order to move her to the other side of the cage with the door, but we still manage to take her out. We try everyday to pasture her.  Here is what we built for her. It actually is made to hold 6 ish rabbits to finish them on pasture before culling to eat.

rabbit tractor

It is 5×7 total fence. The bottom has fence to keep her from digging out and it easily lets the grass come through. The sides are also the same wire and the top we are still working on. We are looking for a light piece of metal to provide the shade instead of the red board on top and then we will fix the other half with wire. Right now we just have a huge piece of wire across the whole top with bricks holding them. Then we put that red board on top to provide shade and so the cats wont lay on the top and knock in the wire. It works for now. It was made out of recycled 2x4s and fence I already had laying around. My son and I can lift it and move it as needed around the lamb pastures.

She totally enjoys being out all day and able to eat freely. At night we place her back in her cage with more fresh greens from the garden, alfalfa pellets, and hay. Usually by morning it is mostly gone and then we place her back out the next day. If she stays inside due to rain then we give her a nice pile of greens including the mixes of grass/weeds she would normally eat and garden stuff, twice a day. So far it is working well and she seems to be doing great on it.

Just a little update also on our turkeys. I was a really bad turkey mom and one accidentally drowned in our rain barrel. Ooops. Now I’m wiser! The one we have left is named Wobbles. The other one was Gobbles. Wobbles is growing like a weed and very nice. Still a little skiddish but I think that is just the heritage breed in him. I am pretty sure it is a him by the way he holds his wings and he tried to fan out when a strange chicken entered his area. So here is the latest picture. He is I think two months old now. So hard to remember all these animals birthdays!

wobbles1 wobbles2

Isnt he the cutest turkey ever!! Why of course he is lol.

Lambs and chickens still doing great and so is the garden. Thanks for having patience while I deal with summer and totally put off blogging  😉

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

 

 

Categories: Homesteading, Livestock | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

