Seasoned Salt

Last night I made dinner using Lawry’s Seasoned Salt.  I started looking at the package and it said NO MSG stamped on the front, which tell me it has it in there since they are making a big deal of it. There are many forms of MSG and many times something that is labeled no MSG will say natural flavors. That is a code that a form of MSG could be in there. The more a company tries to say it doesn’t have this or that..or makes a big deal about being natural, I steer clear.

The ingredients in this seasoned salt, which I use a lot by the way, are as follows: Salt, Sugar, Spices (including paprika and turmeric ), onion, corn starch, garlic, tricalcium phosphate(prevents caking), natural flavor, paprika oleoresin(for color).  Then in red print next to the ingredients says No MSG. So twice it has told me hey I’m good!  So after realizing how much we ate of that last night I thought to myself, “Hey I can make this.”  So I set out to do just that.

First I poured myself a little bit of the seasoned salt into a bowl for a taster.  Then I got out 1/4 tsps and 1/2 tsps and all that small stuff. If I screw it up..it won’t be wasting all my spices!  It took me a little bit but I found that I actually liked the one I made better.  So I gave it to my husband to taste. He said, “This isn’t Lawry’s??”  Nope!  I will tell you it does not taste the same. It’s close enough for me..but when I tasted the Lawry’s again I about puked at the amount of salt..literally.  I had my son taste it too because he was curious. He had to rinse his mouth out because of the amount of salt.

Here is the recipe I came up with..oh just a quick side note…..notice up there in the ingredients it says spices but doesn’t say which ones except for paprika and turmeric ?? Well my friends they don’t have to list them if it doesn’t change the nutritional value of the product. I personally think every herb or season would change the nutritional value in some way as far as what the item carries in vitamins or minerals, but the label people don’t require all that stuff on there..just the basics.  Isn’t that sad that all our ingredients don’t have to be listed??  They can simply say “Spices” and get away with it!

OK seriously here is what I put in there. No surprises.. its all on the ingredient label on the Lawry’s bottle! I am listing a big batch..it will fill the economy size bottle about 3/4ths of the way.

Seasoned Saltphoto (7)

2 1/2 TBS Salt

1/4 C Sugar

1/8 c Turmeric

1/4 c Onion Powder

1/4 c Garlic Powder

Up to 1/4 c Paprika- start with half that and add to your taste

That is it. I didnt include anymore “spices” because honestly it tasted great to me. It isn’t overly salty to my taste buds either.  We have yet to try this on potato wedges, which is what we usually eat this on, so it might need to be tweaked with more salt if it doesnt seem enough.  You could even cut the sugar down a bit if you wanted.  Its all up to you and how you like it!

 

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

 

Categories: Homesteading, Recipes | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Seasoned Salt

  1. We used to eat Lawry’s on everything. We loved it. Now it seems like pouring salt directly on your tongue. Did you know that “spices” can actually be a code word for MSG act-alikes, not just “natural flavors?” There are so many MSG act-alikes out there. It probably does not have monosodium glutamate. Doesn’t mean it doesn’t have disodium glutamate or the dozens of other things that act the same way in your body as MSG. I do a similar homemade seasoned salt myself, just without the sugar.

  2. one of the things I like to add is dried powered celery.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

