I know why…

lana You know in every shelter dogs life, there is the why are you here??  I think I know why. At least    this is the only reason I can think of at the moment.  When you get a dog, you have to find out why someone got rid of it. Then, you have to decide if you can fix/ or live with the problem.

  1. Did they move and couldnt take her? Maybe, unknown because she was roaming the city streets.
  2. Is she potty trained?  Yes, fairly well for being in a place with no bathroom access for 30 days.
  3. Does she bark excessively? No, just at people coming in which is good.
  4. Is she bitey? No, she doesn’t even like to play bite.
  5. Does she hate cats? Yes, but she has prey drive..its the breed traits. That can be trained out.
  6. Does she have too much energy? No, she is calm in the house even though she does require a lot of running, but what shepherd doesnt.
  7. Is she bad with kids? I would say no. Mine are 11, 12 and she licks them to death.
  8. Does she jump up on people? Yes but it took her one day to stop..so No for the long term.

I was running out of questions to ask myself…

  1. Is she a “bad” dog? She has had no formal training and she is 1 1/2 so if that makes her a bad dog, it was the owners fault.
  2. Is she crate trained? Yes, she will go into a crate and sleep all night long fine.
  3. Does she have separation anxiety?  BINGO! We have a winner!

All the other bad things have changed in this week, except for this.  She is going absolutely crazy when I leave.  I dont know what happened or why she is doing this. She doesnt even really know me. It makes me think she had this problem and that is why they just “let her go.”  Alot of times people will just turn their dog loose because they think all shelter dogs get put down. Well it is true some do, but if there is nothing majorly wrong with them, they get adopted fairly easily. Facebook is awesome at helping people adopt. You can see what your shelter has without getting in the car only to be disappointed they had nothing you wanted.

So now we are dealing with that. How bad is it? Well I left her in the house while we left for one hour to see what she would eat…nothing but she left a huge pile of poo on my kitchen floor.  So we crated her that eveningfor 4 hours, after giving her a walk to drain some energy, and came home to a half destroyed blanket and partially destroyed crate.

I left her today for an hour and this is what I came back to.

lacy crate

That front bottom bar was bent in also. I had already bent it back before I snapped the picture.  Guess she really hated me being gone…or did she hate that pillow?

 

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “I know why…

  1. thatoldschoolgirl

    My guess is that she has bonded with you and your family and is afraid every time you leave you won’t come back. When she realizes that she is not going to leave her she should calm down.

    How to treat minor separation anxiety
    Don’t make a big deal out of arrivals and departures. For example, when you arrive home, ignore your dog for the first few minutes then calmly pet him. Leave your dog with an article of clothing that smells like you, such as an old T-shirt that you’ve slept in recently.

    • We never make a big deal about leaving. We just get ready, then crate the dog, and away we go. When we get back I leave her in the crate for a bit till she settles down. Then I open the crate and give her the ok to exit. I can try leaving an old shirt of mine in there with her and see if that helps. I think the other dog being calm and relaxed next to her will help also.

  2. maplecreekcottage

    She will adjust – it’s still new! Don’t give up just yet, it sounds like something like that is what has happened to her in the past. She needs someone like you guys to not give up!

  3. maplecreekcottage

    Also, I agree – the comings and goings are basically ignored, especially if she is acting crazy. When she was new, instead of crating her, we put her in the main room of the house (kitchen/family room), at that stage I had to make sure it was tidy and free of temptation – but she had access to the front door and window where she could still guard the home and wait for our return. Actually, she seems to wait to steal food off the counter until I’m home now, especially if I’ve not said hello when she is not going crazy. They are smarter than we give them credit for!

    • I did let her roam the first time. She had the kitchen and living room and she left a nice stinky pile of poo in the kitchen. She had jumped on top of the kitchen table. I cant have that, so that is why I crated her. I’m sure she will get better with time. I am recording her tomorrow when we go to town for groceries. We will see if it is when we leave or after we’ve been gone for a while. That will help me to help her.

      • maplecreekcottage

        Good luck, and remember that you’ve already trained one dog successfully, you can do it!

  4. Poor baby! Sounds like you’re doing the right thing. If you did make a big deal out of leaving it would probably just raise her anxiety. I’m hopeful once she’s fully adjusted, it will subside. She’s adorable!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

