Garden Chart

Can you feel it???  The sounds of the birds chirping, the emerging of the robins back into society, the groundhogs prediction of early spring????   I can feel it all through my body..the urge to garden!  Last week I was completely bored with the lack of the To-Do list for outside so I re-potted my indoor plants.  I have a banana tree, a lemon tree, a pineapple plant, and aloe.  Yeah I know..aloe doesn’t fit in that tropical theme, but I wouldn’t be without my aloe!  I burn myself way too many times   😉

So why do I get this urge to plant so early you say?  Most gardens don’t go in until End of May.  Yeah well I”m not most gardeners. I live in Zone 5b. (So most charts say) If you live in this zone you can start your garden as early as St. Patricks day.  Why do I do this you ask? Well I’m a canner.  That’s how I roll.  I cannot have my garden all put in at the same time, because they would all get done the same time.  That my friends does not fit my schedule. How on earth am I going to can tomatoes, if I am snapping a 5 gallon bucket of green beans?  How am I going to make pickles, if I am shucking corn?

Some one asked me last year, what I planted and when.  So I sat down and kinda figured it out. It’s not set in stone or anything, but this is good chart and it’s a great reminder for me as I age and things seem to flee from my memory   😯   I have included harvesting too so that you know a round about time that things start getting done. Harvesting is very laxed because I don’t pay that much attention. I go from a weekly “watch my garden grow” to a “oh shoot this is done!”  So here is my chart. One small detail, on the planting for Sept it says broccoli. Well broccoli has had it in for me since the first year. I have not planted it at that time, but I don’t see why you couldn’t.  Maybe I will try again this year, talk sweetly to it, and show it some love.

garden plantingharvest guide

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Gardening, Homesteading | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Garden Chart

  1. Reblogged this on Modern Homesteaders and commented:
    Loving this! What a great blog by Simply Homesteading!

  2. I wish I could can sporadically through the season..that sounds so great….not in Mn…Oh well 🙂
    I am so anxious to get started again this year. I am so excited that I just had to plant something so I purchased some herbs so the kids and I can start to grow an indoor herb garden. I am looking forward to trying out some raised beds this year. Happy planting!
    Angie (homegrownconnects)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

