Why am I still Homeschooling?

That is the question that I seem to be asking myself this week.  Some days and weeks and even months go really, really well.  Then there are the days you think, “why the heck am I still doing this?”  People, I believe, really have to be called to homeschool.  You need patience…lots and lots of patience.  I would say about 60% of my days feel like this..and I’m being very generous.

thebillionairegirl.files.wordpress.com

thebillionairegirl.files.wordpress.com

I try to keep a schedule because that seems to keep us on track better. We wake at 8, do chores, eat, get dressed, and start our assignments by 9.  My oldest has ADHD. We are not medicating. There is something that is still in this diet that has me saying on auto-repeat, “pay attention” “hey get on it” “hurry up” “focus boy!”   My youngest dispite having Dyslexia seems to be focused and goal oriented.  He can complete all this work in like 3 hours without a break.  That is horrible because he has days he wants to do that and then it is distracting for the other child who wants to have fun too!

Most days flow well. If it is a subject I teach them, I do it after lunch or right when we start, or if they end on break at the same time.  Everyday is different as far as the order of what we do.  I hope this post doesn’t discourage you from wanting to homeschool. I just want you all to know, it doesn’t go as you want, but believe me your kids are learning.  There is nothing more satisfying then being out somewhere and something happening, only to have your children repeat a lesson they learned.  I get to see that a lot now and it is of great hope to me on days like these. Realize that not everyday will go as you want it to go, but it always goes as God wants it to go.

 

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Homeschooling posts | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Why am I still Homeschooling?

  1. Oh yes! I can relate. We have much less structure with our days because that seems to work for us (I have less kids HSing and younger too!) but the PATIENCE that is needed is astounding! But the reward is awesome, some of my favorite moments are when my kiddo relates something he learned so matter of factly to someone else- like he never struggled a second with it- but I know we spent all week feeling like I was speaking Martian. lol

    Funny Story: Last night we were at the church for a Pancake Supper and someone asked my son (5) where he went to school. He said that he was homeschooled. He was then asked if his mama was his teacher, his reply: well I have to do it all on my own. Huh. That’s some kind of appreciation. 🙂 And the kicker, after some clarification the person said to him “Well I bet that it is awesome to have your mama as a teacher”, he told them “Well, sorta.” Haha,

  2. I was definitely never called to homeschool my children. I don’t really have the temperment, but I’ve had to here and there over the years. Fortunately my daughter is thriving in high school. And this last time for my son wasn’t a choice, it was a necessity. I know I am absolutely doing the right thing even if I lose all semblence of sanity on occasion. I am far more patient than I ever thought I could be, but that’s still not as patient as I wish I was. The tough days I hard, but the other days make it all worth it.

  3. maplecreekcottage

    You make me laugh out loud at how you express your frustration so “nicely”! And then end the post with Happy Homesteading. Your positive attitude is contagious!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

