Skill: Crochet

I know I’ve blogged before about crochet, but I wanted to get more in-depth on why this is a great skill. Crochet has been around for forever, kind of like knitting.  I’ve tried knitting..not my favorite pasttime. It’s ok though because one of my best friends loves to knit. We can always request something from the other person if needed.

I’ve been crocheting since about age 9. I made a blanket. Ok, false.. I started a blanket, but I had big dreams! They died after two rows.  So I had this stuffed animal horse on my bed and I made that long double row string into a halter/bridle and rode my horse.  Crochet left me for many many years.  Mom always crocheted. If she wasn’t reading a Harlequin romance novel, she was crocheting. Many hours were spent watching The Young and the Restless, All My Children, and General Hospital while crocheting. Nights were spent watching Dallas and crocheting.  She could make anything- butterfly magnets, hair bows, barbie doll dresses, roses, doilies, table cloths, pictures. It was amazing to watch and I wanted to do that some day, but I was a kid and I wanted to hang out with my friends.

It wasn’t until I was married and had a child that I actually took up crochet again. It often gets put on the back burner.  I’ve only made a few things, but what I have made I have used or someone else has used and that makes me feel good.  I have a running joke when people ask me how long it takes to make a blanket, I reply and say at least 3 good years.   🙂

Now I’m going to share with you what I’ve done so far. Now mind you it has been 12 years and these are the only projects I’ve done.  The first blanket I actually finished was this zig zag one. My mom used to make these all the time in a variety of colors, so I knew I wanted it to be my first.

crochetblanket1

The next one I started right after…and it’s still not done. Probably because it was for my hubby lol. It is halfway done, but you get the idea. It will make a great wheelchair blanket when he is old and decrepit and I forget to finish it.   😉

crochetblanket2

This next one was a great idea. I thought cool I would love to make a fall blanket.  Then I realized I would have to sew each of these squares together and that would take forever!  So into a tote it went for about 3 years lol.  I finally got it out and sewed it together.  When I was done I noticed there were a lot of knots in there and they showed on one side.  So I added a lot of extra fringes on one side.  So now I ended up with a nice elegant side and the other was more of a country look.

IMG_0132IMG_0133

 

Then came the pregancy.  Not mine!  My bestie since K was having a baby. I thought it would be great to make a blanket for a twin size bed and then a carseat blanket to match.  I thought the smaller blanket could grow up with the child until it would be old enough to give up the “blanky” then transition over to the larger one. I started working. This was the fastest blanket I’ve ever made and had to enlist my mom to help because the shower was soon and wanted to give it to her then.  But as all of life goes, plans dont always go as you hoped.  I got the blanket done, but not the carseat blanket. I was started on that and told her it would be done before the baby arrived.  Then……  She told me she was having twins!  Well I could not whip out another blanket or even another car seat cover by then, so I told her I was scrapping the car seat cover and the blanket was the gift lol. She understood. The blanket is fleece on one side and it is sewn onto the crocheted blanket.

crochetblanket4

So now that all that was done I decided to make something fun. I made a hairbow!

IMG_0125

Recently my mom gave me all her crocheting magazines and I decided to be like my momma, try to attempt to read an actual pattern, and make a doily.  It wasnt too bad. The first few rows kinda sucked and I had to tear it out but I finally figured it out!

IMG_0585

My next project is to make a picture. My mom made an entire woodland scene with like 5 deer including a buck as a tablecloth. It was huge and awesome. My great grandmother made the last supper.  I decided to go very small and do a project for my new home.  I havent started it yet, but here is a picture of what is should look like when its done, notice I said should look like lol.  It will be 9×20 inches once I am done.

IMG_0480

Let’s see you do that with knit! lol  Learn to crochet, it is awesome!

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

 

Categories: Homesteading, Skills | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Skill: Crochet

  1. thatoldschoolgirl

    Good job. Love the “blanket is fleece on one side and it is sewn onto the crocheted blanket.”

  2. one of my goals for 2013 is to learn how to crochet – looks like you can do beautiful things with it! i better get started…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

