Farmgirl Swap

In this world God sends special people your way. Internet makes it even easier for people to be sent your way.  The internet is awesome. I am very computer savy. I think it is a great tool for the homesteader.  I have a smartphone which connects me to people 24/7 even if I do not have a computer.  When I first started to blog years ago I was on Blogger. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great place to be, but WordPress is where it’s at!

I am so grateful for everyone who has happened upon my blog.  Without you I am nothing! It is awesome to read all your posts and many of us have things in common.  Among all your followers usually there is one that stands out, that you connect with. I have that also.  She said in her blog we seemed to be separated at birth. I totally agree.  We are, I would say because I love gardening so much, 2 peas in a pod. The only thing we seem to not have in common is she does not eat meat.. I know right! What is up with that?!     😉  That’s ok because half the time I don’t want to eat meat either because it means having to take a pet and use it as a meal.  I’ve grown up that way and I have come to terms with that. I give them the best life possible and use all I can so that the animal did not die in vain.  I digress.  Sorry for the tangent.

Who is this mystery lady you ask?  It is Katie from Farmgirl School. Her blog is http://farmgirlschool.wordpress.com .  I encourage you to check her out. She is very country and awesome. I love her blogs and she is so down to earth.  She yearns for the old days as do I. I’m not sure how I happened upon her blog but it was right when I was starting mine.  She is a great inspiration to me and any homesteader.

A while back I was trying very hard to be Suzy Homemaker. I found some material that my mother had given me and I made some aprons. Very basic aprons mind you, but Katie being an Apron Addict wanted me to make her one.  I laughed so hard I thought I would die, but she was serious!  I tried to talk her out of it, but it did not work.  I hunted all around for material I thought she would like. I tried to find a pattern she didnt have.  It’s very nerve wracking to try to make something when you know they have at least 20 others!  I stopped one day and thought to myself, “what is not in her state?”  Amish and Mennonite came to mind.  Not that there wouldn’t be any around there somewhere, but the likelyhood of them being close and her having an apron was slim.  So I enlisted the help of my Milk Lady.  She had a beautiful apron that I thought would be a great pattern.  She let me borrow it and a sample of the apron.  She also asked me if I wanted her to make it for me.  (Hindsight, I should have lol)  I told her no that this was to be made by me.  You all should be laughing right now.

I don’t claim to be anything but God’s child lol.  I am a jack of all trades, master of none. Sewing is probably what I am worst at.  I actually had to sew one apron just to figure out how to sew an apron!  After two attempts that didn’t look bad, I did one for myself. I felt confident that I could sew one for her, so I started.  Surprisingly enough I found a material that was beautiful, and that no Mennonite would be allowed to wear, at a Mennonite shop!  The apron turned out fairly well, just not sure how long it will last because apparently I didn’t do the seams right, but hey if it dies in a month I will sew another lol.  Meanwhile she is busy “designing” mine.  Designing?? sigh… your lucky it got off the sewing machine in one piece!

So here is the apron she made for me, modeled by me and here is the apron I made her, modeled by Katie.  Yeah I know you can tell right away who needs to be making aprons for a living!   😉

eileen img_0509

 

If you ever get a chance to swap something with another homesteader, do it!  It was so much fun!  I told her she needed to make these and sell them on Etsy.  She is going to sell them at a farmers market and I am glad. Others can enjoy it as much as I do.  Thanks Katie, you’re my blogging BFF   🙂

 

Happy Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Homesteading | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Farmgirl Swap

  1. and you are mine! We ought to just find homesteads and meet in the middle. Shall I meet you in Kansas? I LOVE my apron and receive a great many compliments and no, I have not seen that pattern before. It is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

