Raw Milk Ice Cream

I love ice cream. I could eat it in the middle of a blizzard!  When I was on a low fat diet, I pretty much knocked it out of my diet.  It also had a lot of sugar in it and my kids didn’t need anymore.  I’ve tried multiple times to make homemade but it always came out hard.  It got to where I couldn’t even scoop it even after letting it sit out for an hour.  I had thought of buying an ice cream maker but the one I wanted, which did not use rock salt, was $80.  Right now we are trying to save for a house, so buying that was not really an option.

I actually came up with this by accident.  I was going to make some whipped cream, or see if I could out of the cream I skimmed off of the milk.  Usually you have to use heavy cream from the store, but just on a whim I thought I’d try it.  I mean you don’t know till you try right??

I put about 2 cups in a quart jar and used my electric whisk.  It got all foamy but there was still lots of liquid.  It doubled in size and so I added sugar like I normally do with whipping cream.  I also added vanilla and folded it in. Then I froze it.  It turned out the milk froze on the bottom and the whipped part was soft on top.  So I set it out for like 5 minutes and then scooped it out into a bowl and stirred. It was soft and creamy and delicious.  It was a tad sour because I used old cream. If it wasn’t going to turn out I didn’t want to feel like I was throwing away good stuff!

Now the tricky part..had to duplicate it to see if it was a real thing lol.  It was good enough for me..so I’m posting it.  First, let me tell you that you really need to try not to get a bunch of milk.  You need just the main cream part because it will already have enough milk in it.  Don’t skim all the cream off..once you start to see the marbling as you skim STOP. (marbling picture on How to Make Butter)

Ok, First step, skim cream off your milk.  I had 3 gallons and got about 3 cups of cream. I skimmed a bit too much on mine.

icecream1

 

Take an electric whisk, and whisk for what seems to be an eternity.  It was at least 15-20 minutes. It might be less time if you let the cream warm up a bit.  Kinda wished I had something other than a hand mixer when I was done!  It should form enough bubbles to be double in size.  As your whisking, add in sugar.  Taste to make sure its sweet enough.  Next add in vanilla. I used 2 tsp for my 3 cups. Whip that in as well.  Once you have it where it looks double or close..

icecream2

 

Slip it into the freezer- bowl and all.  I left mine in all day because I had to leave to help a friend.  I got it out when I got home after dinner and it was easy to scoop and move around.  The more you can whip it to be whipped cream the better.  Mine had a little bit of ice crystals because, like I said, I had too much milk skimmed in with mine.  I just stirred it up and mashed it around.

icecream3

 

Voila!! Ice Cream.  I grabbed some frozen blueberries, thawed them out some, then stirred them in.

icecream4

 

The kids think this is awesome.  I know exactly what is in it..raw cream, sugar, vanilla, and blueberries. We can make this every week (unless I need butter) and it serves 4 people.  It allows us to have ice cream but not have gallons sitting around loaded with sugar.  It is a sweet treat for one day which is what I want! The best part is… I just saved myself $80!   🙂

 

Happy Sweet Homesteading!!   😀

Categories: Homesteading, Recipes | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Raw Milk Ice Cream

  1. Wow, that looks great! Yumm:)

  2. thatoldschoolgirl

    Reblogged this on thatoldschoolgirl's Blog.

  3. That’s a clever way to do it. I combined my Christmas and birthday presents, plus a month’s allowance to get a hard ice cream maker from Whynter this year. I love it. No monitoring whatsoever (or rock salt and ice cubes), just put the stuff in, set the timer, and it goes. It has built in refrigeration. I think it’s one of the best gadgets I have invested in. I love how hands off it is. The ice cream comes out perfectly and after some time in the freezer it is like hard ice cream from the store, not impossible to scoop or mushy like some. My favorite recipe is 2 cups cream, 2 cups half and half, 1 cup sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon. Next time I make it I am going to try reducing the sugar by 1/2.

  4. Troy Russell

    I tried this with fresh cream from my jersey cow. It turned to butter. Oh well…

    • aumcchildren

      I let mine sit out for a bit first, then dont do it too long. Butter will result from over whisking. Try again! Besides you cant go wrong..at least you can use the butter lol.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

