Fizzy Lemonade

I have been experimenting with ferments now for a few weeks.  I bought the book Nourishing Traditions.  In there they had a drink called Punch.  I decided I would try it.  It called for the juice of 6-8 lemons. I got about 1 3/4 c of juice then I put a 1/2 c of white sugar (we havent switched over sugar yet) it calls for Rapadura, 1/2 c whey, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg and put it all in 2 quarts of water.  It says to place it in a glass jar and cover tightly and leave it room temperature for 2-3 days.  Skim off any foam that may have risen to the top. Cover tightly and store in the fridge. That the flavor will develop over time.

Well I guess I didnt figure it would make all that much of a difference, so because I needed the lid for another jar I took it off for a day. Then read somewhere that the lids need to be on the whole time or it will stop fermenting. Well crud!  I filtered it and tasted it, It tasted horrible. I must say I was not a fan of nutmeg in there.  I added 2/3 c sugar to it and tasted it again.. eww..nah..not for me.

Not wanting to waste it I decided to make it taste better lol.  I grabbed a couple oranges and squeezed them to get the juice. I poured that in, tightened the lid, and let it sit on my counter all day and overnight.  Tonight for dinner I skimmed off the foam that was on top, stirred it around a bit, and tasted. YUM!  I had the kids try it. They loved it.  I think it might have some alcohol in it so I will dose theirs down with seltzer water, but I am definitely going to make it again.

I’ve also made a nice ferment of a whole pineapple juiced and one pear along with 2 TBS whey.  I let that sit on my counter with just a coffee filter on top for two days. I would not give that to my children lol. I poured a half a glass and filled the rest with seltzer water and it was awesome.

I think I’m going to like fermented drinks!

Happy Homesteading!!  😀

Categories: Homesteading, Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

