Homemade Tomato Soup

Soup is a staple among homesteaders.  Especially if you can put it in a crock or let it simmer on the stove all day while you’re outside doing work!  So yesterday I posted my Chili recipe. It calls for Tomato soup. Now normally I add Condensed store bought soup.  Here is a list of ingredients in that soup. Tomato concentrate(water, tomato paste), high fructose corn syrup, water, wheat flour, contains less than 2% of: salt, modified corn starch, potassium chloride, sea salt, citric acid, ascorbic acid, natural flavorings.

All these things in bold I do not want in my soup. I don’t really want citric acid in there either, but I use it for cheese so I’m letting it slide.  I don’t quite understand why you need salt and then sea salt. Why not just use sea salt and be done?  Natural flavorings is a red flag for MSG. Now some people don’t realize the effects of it until they have migraines all the time, their children have them, or they do research on their own. MSG is bad and is masked in many ways.  Ok enough on all the bad stuff.

I have searched and searched my house for the recipe I printed out of tomato soup.  I can’t find it, nor can I find the original recipe on a blog or website anywhere.  SOOOO improvise here I come!  This recipe is a combo of a couple different recipes.  I made this before I posted the blog so guess what?? I have a picture!!

tomato soup pic

Tomato Soup

1 quart Home canned  Tomatoes- Pureed in a blender

2 cups of Chicken Broth (linked to my page) I’m not sure how it will taste with store stuff

1/2 cup Raw milk (cream has been mostly skimmed to make butter)

2 TBS Raw Unsalted Butter

1/2 small finely chopped onion

2 TBS Raw honey

1/2 tsp basil

1/4 tsp salt

1 medium bay leaf

Pepper to taste

Chop onion into the smallest pieces you can. Sauté them in the bottom of a pan with the butter until they are starting to caramelize. Add in 2 cups of chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Add in the remainder of ingredients. Let simmer on the stove until the soup reduces down to at least half.  ( Mine took about 1-2 hours on a medium simmer)  Remove bay leaf and serve.  Be sure to stir occasionally and taste to make sure you don’t need to add more salt, honey, pepper, or basil.  This recipe makes about 4 cups depending on how much you reduce( 2 bowls). A light sprinkle of cheddar is great on it too!

I had my husband taste it (he always eats the can stuff).  He said he would eat it with grilled cheese, that it was a herbal tomato soup, and it was good.  Next step is to make a large batch and freeze it and try it in my chili instead of the canned stuff.  My oldest son hates EVERYTHING I make homemade except cake and cookies. He said it was half ok. I asked him if he could choke it down for a meal and he said yes. 😉  My youngest loves me experimenting and loved the soup along with myself.  I guess 3 1/2 thumbs out of 4 is pretty good!

Categories: Homesteading, Recipes | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Homemade Tomato Soup

  1. Oh, that sounds good. I have a pot of turkey broth I made yesterday sitting in the fridge so I think I’ll try this recipe tomorrow. I don’t imagine it’ll make too much of a difference not being chicken broth which would require a lot of thawing on my part. I’ll probably add a bit of garlic since I’m sniffly. I’ve never tried putting honey in soup before. Should be interesting. Have you ever canned your own soups?

    • I make turkey broth too and it’s not any different really. All I use the honey for is to take the edge off the tomatoes. I don’t want my soup to scream TOMATO, I just need it to say it quietly lol. I have not canned my own soups. We usually just buy cans of it from the store. My goal this year is to make our own Cream of Mushroom, Cream of Chicken, and Tomato soups and can those. I actually did a gallon and a half of broth. All three recipes use chicken broth in them. I”ll be posting those recipes soon.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

