Making Bread

Ok, let me first just say that making bread really is an art, either that or you have the wrong recipe!  I have a breadmaker.  It makes beautiful loaves of bread, but my kids do not like the amount of crust on the loaves.  So I started making bread by hand.

I started my search for a long bread pan on amazon and read some reviews.  People were using this particular pan with a recipe from King Arthur Flour company.  I looked them up and made a loaf.  Let me say first that this is a really great loaf. It’s hardy and you don’t need to eat alot. This bread is great with soup and has a light potato taste to me.  Here is the link to the recipe itself.  http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/white-sandwich-bread-recipe   It is worth trying and you can call a hotline if it doesn’t turn out and they will help you!  It’s guaranteed bread lol.  Follow the recipe to the T and it should turn out fine. Here is a picture of that particular recipe in that loaf pan. ( I doubled the recipe)

longbreadbaking

I was making that bread pretty regular but it was too heavy on the stomach for everyday. Now I have found a recipe I love even more.  I don’t remember where I got it but it’s my everyday bread.  I also switched to two loaf pans because we stopped eating a lot of bread and only go through about a half a loaf a week or so.  Here is my new fav recipe and how I make it.

White Wheat Bread

2 tsp yeast

1 cup lukewarm water

1/2 tsp salt

1 c milk

1 egg

1/4 c olive oil

1/2 c honey

3 cups white wheat flour

3 cups white flour

Place yeast in a bowl with the water. (Be sure the water is not hot or you will kill your yeast). Add salt, milk, and egg.  Now take a 1/2 c. measure cup and pour it about half full of olive oil as your 1/4th cup.  Make sure you swirl the oil around the 1/2 of cup to coat it and then pour it into the bowl.  Now fill that same 1/2 c with your honey amount.  The oil you used right before will enable the honey to slide right out.  Don’t worry if your oil amount isn’t exact…who cares 🙂  Then add the 3 cups of wheat flour and mix until it’s all goopy. You can even let it sit a few minutes if you want so that the wheat absorbs some of the liquid. Wheat takes longer than white flour.  Anyway..now that it’s all goopy then add your 3 cups of white flour.  I use unbleached enriched flour.  Push the flour from the outside of the bowl towards the middle as you go around..you’re sort of kneading it around the edges. Then I take and start kneading it in the bowl adding flour as needed. (kneading in the bowl saves a messy counter)  After it looks fairly nice I place it on my stove for a minute and wash my bowl.  Then spray the bowl with pam and place the doughball back in.  Cover with a wet towel and place in a warm spot. (I turn on my dehydrator and place the bowl on top) Let rise for about an hour.  Punch down and reform a ball.  Let rise again about an hour or the dough has doubled in size.  Punch down again and roll one end to the other making a long roll looking piece in the bowl, split in half.  Take each piece and shape into a loaf. Place into a greased loaf pan.  Let rise again until it’s almost to the top of the loaf pans, preheat oven to 350 while it’s rising in the loaf pans.  Place in oven for 15 minutes, then place foil over the loaves and bake for another 25 minutes.  When the loaves are done remove to a cooling rack and butter the top of the loaf.  Let sit until cool.

I realize this is a long explanation and if you’ve never made bread before you’ll be like WHAT?? 😯  Here is a video explanation of how to make bread. Bread Making

Happy Breadmaking and Happy Homesteading!! 😀

 

Categories: Homesteading, Recipes | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Making Bread

  1. Can’t wait to try it! We are so similar, it’s a pity we don’t live closer!

    • It is such a pity. Maybe one day we will meet. I would definitely make both bread recipes and see which one you like best. They are both really good breads.

  2. Thanks for the recipe! It is so easy to do, everyone should try it. For years I used recipes out of a very old cookbook that was my mother’s and I always loved doing it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

